The ASEAN Committee on Consumer Protection (ACCP) was established in 2007 by the ASEAN Economic Ministers in 2007. Its members are representatives of consumer protection agencies of AMS.  The ACCP serves as the focal point to implement and monitor regional arrangements and mechanisms to foster consumer protection in the ASEAN Economic Community

Since its establishment in 2007, the focus has been to ensure that consumer protection legislation is in place in all AMS, consumer access to information is enhanced, mechanisms for consumer redress and recalls are in place, and institutional capacity are strengthened. These are reflected in the strategic approaches under the work plan for the ACCP 2012-2015. Among the major accomplishments are:

  • Nine AMS have consumer protection laws, with Cambodia aiming to enact its consumer protection law in the very near future;
  • The launch of the ASEAN Consumer Protection website in 2012  (;  and
  • Notification and information exchange mechanism developed for official and voluntary recalled/ banned products where Member States are able to upload its recalled/ banned products in real time through the ACCP website.

The ASEAN Consumer website, which was launched in 2012, thus serves as the main reference point for matters pertaining to consumer protection issues including the provision of information on (i) AMS focal points for handling cross-border complaints; (ii) notifications on recalled/banned products; (iii) consumer protection legislation of AMS; and (iv) other information such as publications and workshop materials.

The ACCP has also overseen the implementation of initiatives and commitments under the AEC Blueprint 2015, including the development of a (i) notification and information exchange mechanism on official/voluntary recalled products; (ii) research and dialogue on consumer protection (a set of 24 policy digests); (iii) technical competency for consumer protection in ASEAN (a set of six training modules); and (iv) a set of public awareness models and guidelines.

Current Chair of ACCP:

Mr. H.E. Penn Sovicheat
Domestic Trade Directorate-General
Ministry of Commerce, Cambodia

List of ACCP Leads:

Brunei Darussalam

Ms. Dk Hajah Rosnah Pg Hj Damit 
Deputy Director-General
Department of Economic Planning and Development
Prime Minister’s Office, Brunei Darussalam


Mr. Kim Meas Sok Seiha
Deputy Director – General
CAMCONTROL Directorate-General
Ministry of Commerce, Cambodia


Ms. Ganef Judawati
Directorate of Consumer Empowerment
Directorate General of Consumer Protection and Trade Order
Ministry of Trade, Indonesia


Mr. Phomma Inthanam
Consumer Protection and Competition Division
Department of Domestic Trade
Ministry of Industry and Commerce, Lao PDR


Dato’ Haji Razali bin Othman
Deputy Secretary General
Franchise and Consumerism
Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-operatives and Consumerism, Malaysia


Mr. Myint Lwin
Deputy Director General
Department of Consumer Affairs
Ministry of Commerce,
Republic of the Union of Myanmar


Ms. Lilian G. Salonga
Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Advocacy Bureau (CPAB)
Consumer Protection Group (CPG)
Department of Trade and Industry (DTI)


Ms. Dorothy Lee
Senior Assistant Director,
Research and Enterprise Division
Ministry of Trade & Industry


Ms. Wimonrat Rukkhaworakul
Director of International Cooperation Section
Office of the Consumer Protection Board (OCPB), The Prime Minister’s Office


Mr. Trinh Anh Tuan
Deputy Director General
Vietnam Competition Authority
Ministry of Industry and Trade of Vietnam