As stipulated in Article 12 of the ASEAN Charter, each ASEAN Member State shall appoint a Permanent Representative to ASEAN with the rank of Ambassador based in Jakarta.

The Permanent Representatives collectively constitute a Committee of Permanent Representatives (CPR), which shall:

  1. support the work of the ASEAN Community Councils and ASEAN Sectoral Ministerial Bodies;
  2. coordinate with ASEAN National Secretariats and other ASEAN Sectoral Ministerial Bodies;
  3. liaise with the Secretary-General of ASEAN and the ASEAN Secretariat on all subjects relevant to its work;
  4. facilitate ASEAN cooperation with external partners; and
  5. perform such other functions as may be determined by the ASEAN Coordinating Council.


Click here for Contact List

The Committee of Permanent Representatives to ASEAN (CPR)