

JOINT MEDIA STATEMENT

THE 8TH ASEAN TELECOMMUNICATIONS AND IT MINISTERS MEETING



"High Speed Connection to Bridge ASEAN Digital Divide"

29 August 2008, Bali, Indonesia

Opening Ceremony

1. H.E. Dr. Sofyan A Djalil, State Minister for State-Owned Enterprises for the Republic of Indonesia, officially opened the 8th ASEAN Telecommunications and IT Ministers Meeting (TELMIN-8).

2. In his Keynote Speech, Minister Sofyan emphasized that a secure and well established information infrastructure among ASEAN countries is crucial for the region's economic growth and competitiveness. He also underlined that the special theme for TELMIN-8 on "High Speed Connection to Bridge ASEAN Digital Divide" is a genuine solution to address national digital divide in ASEAN member countries by incorporating high speed broadband connection to provide most affordable telecommunication/ICT access and services. He expressed confidence that TELMIN-8 would produce concrete outputs for the development and implementation of ICT technologies and applications for the common benefits of all people in the ASEAN region.

3. H.E. Dr. Sofyan A. Djalil, State Minister for State-Owned Enterprises for Indonesia, chaired TELMIN-8, with H.E. Khamlouat Sidlakone, Minister of Prime Minister's Office and Head of National Authority of Posts and Telecommunications for Lao PDR as Vice-Chairman.

Enabling ICT for ASEAN Economic Community

4. In line with establishment of the ASEAN Community by 2015, the Ministers adopted concrete measures and key indicators to further advance ICT sector's integration and development as vital pillar in the ASEAN's community building process. The Ministers stressed the need of high speed information infrastructure to narrow the development gap and provide new business opportunities for accelerating the ASEAN Economic Community by 2015.

5. The Ministers noted that collaboration and cooperation with ASEAN Dialogue Partners, International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and industry players had intensified in the past year. The Ministers encouraged more active participation and consultation with all stakeholders concerned to ensure that ASEAN ICT sector stays relevant and plays an enabling role in the community building process in ASEAN.

Promoting High Speed Connection to Bridge Digital Divide

6. The Ministers adopted the *Bali Declaration in Forging Partnership to Advance High Speed Connection to Bridge ASEAN Digital Divide,* which aims, amongst others, to deepen and strengthen regional initiatives and activities toward enhancing the enabling infrastructure of the ubiquitous ASEAN information society and to establish the foundation for ICT applications, services and solutions in the ASEAN region.

7. The Ministers agreed to work collectively on a wide range of actionoriented measures and innovative ideas to enhance high speed connectivities between ASEAN Member States, particularly those focusing on improving broadband access, promoting cost effective communications, expanding participation in the Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA) for telecommunications equipment, and deploying advanced ICT infrastructure in ASEAN region.

8. The Ministers emphasized the importance of local digital content in driving the demand for broadband to bridge digital divide and contribute to a stronger and integrated ASEAN Community.

9. The Ministers also highlighted the need for a competitive and businessfriendly environment across all ASEAN Member States to enable cost effective communications and facilitate interaction among public sector agencies, industries and the citizens in ASEAN.

Steady Progress in ASEAN ICT Integration Activities

10. The Ministers expressed satisfaction with the steady progress of ASEAN ICT cooperation aimed at a connected, vibrant and secure ASEAN Economic Community, notably on concrete initiatives on ASEAN ICT online trading centre (e-Mall), universal services, international roaming charges and regional network connectivity resilience and diversity, amongst others.

11. The Ministers discussed policy directions to implement strategic cooperation that lead to a higher level of regional integration and development, including human and institutional capacity building in the ASEAN ICT sector.

12. The Ministers endorsed new cooperation activities to promote regional integration and strengthen cooperation with Dialogue Partners in 2008 – 2009, such as e-Commerce Readiness, ASEAN ICT Master Plan, IPv6 certification, M-commerce, CyberKids Camp and ASEAN Internet Exchanges study.

13. The Ministers commended the ASEAN Computer Emergency Response Teams (CERTs) for the successful completion of the ASEAN Cybersecurity Incident Drill (ACID-3) in July 2008, which included participation from ASEAN Dialogue Partners.

14. The Ministers lauded key achievements of the 14th ASEAN Telecommunication Regulators' Council (ATRC), in particular on guidelines to facilitate development of next generation networks (NGN) and interconnection.

15. The Ministers recognized the need for common frequencies used in ASEAN Member States for communications during disaster relief efforts. In this regard, the Ministers welcomed ATRC study on common frequencies for disaster relief communications which can be used in emergency situations and disaster relief operations in ASEAN region.

16. The Ministers expressed their sincere appreciation and gratitude to the government and people of the Republic of Indonesia for the warm hospitality and excellent arrangement for the TELMIN-8.

17. TELMIN-9 will be held in Lao PDR in 2009.

LIST OF MINISTERS

- 1. H.E. Pehin Dato Abu Bakar Apong, Minister of Communications, Brunei Darussalam
- 2. H.E. Dr. Chin Bun Sean, Secretary of State for Posts and Telecommunications, Cambodia
- 3. H.E. Dr. Sofyan A Djalil, State Minister for State-Owned Enterprises, Indonesia,
- 4. H.E. Khamlouat Sidlakone, Minister of Prime Minister's Office and Head of National Authority of Posts and Telecommunications, Lao PDR
- 5. H.E. Dato' Shaziman Abu Mansor, Minister for Energy, Water & Communications, Malaysia
- 6. H.E. Major General Thein Htun, Deputy Minister for Communications, Posts and Telegraphs, Myanmar
- 7. H.E. Ray Anthony Roxas-Chua III, Chairman (Minister), Commission on Information and Communications Technology, Philippines
- 8. H.E. Dr. Lee Boon Yang, Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, Singapore
- 9. H.E. Sue Lo-Utai, Permanent Secretary on behalf of H.E. Dr. Mun Patanotai, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Information and Communication Technology, Thailand
- 10. H.E. Le Nam Thang, Vice Minister for Information and Communications, Viet Nam; and
- 11. H.E. Nicholas T Dammen, Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN

28th August 2008, Bali