



## Joint Statement

## ASEAN Directors-General of Immigration Departments and Heads of Consular Affairs Divisions of the Ministries of Foreign Affairs (DGICM) + Australia Consultations

- 1. The Second ASEAN Directors-General of Immigration Departments and Heads of Consular Affairs Divisions of the Ministries of Foreign Affairs (DGICM) + Australia Consultation was held on 15 November 2006 in Jakarta, Indonesia.
- 2. The meeting was co-chaired by Mr Basyir Ahmad Barmawi, Director-General, Directorate-General of Immigration, Republic of Indonesia, and Mr. Andrew Metcalfe, Secretary, Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs (DIMA), Australia.
- 3. The meeting welcomed the sustained and mutually beneficial operational cooperation between ASEAN immigration departments and DIMA, as well as continued joint activities in the areas of forensic document examination, immigration intelligence, border management systems and professional development.
- 4. The meeting noted good results from regional initiatives discussed at the last Consultations such as the Bali Process Workshop on Operationalising Immigration Intelligence held in Singapore in January 2006 and the Training Workshop on Anti-Document Fraud for Immigration Officers held in Cambodia in May 2006.
- 5. The meeting discussed a number of opportunities for future ASEAN-Australia cooperation on immigration matters. In particular, it agreed to pursue in 2007 two initiatives on strengthening immigration training cooperation in the region and practitioner-level exchanges of experiences on immigration investigations.
- 6. The meeting agreed that the Third ASEAN-Australia Immigration Consultations would be held in conjunction with the 11<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the ASEAN Directors General of Immigration Departments and head of Consular affairs Divisions of the Ministries of Foreign Affairs (DGICM).
- 7. The meeting expressed appreciation to the people and the Government of the Republic of Indonesia for the excellent arrangements and hospitality accorded to all the delegates.

Jakarta, Republic of Indonesia, 15 November 2006