The Heads of Science and Technology Agencies of the State/Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia (Cambodia), the Republic of Indonesia (Indonesia), the Lao People’s Democratic Republic (Lao PDR), Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar (Myanmar), the Republic of Philippines (The Philippines), the Republic of Singapore (Singapore), the Kingdom of Thailand (Thailand) and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam (Viet Nam), Member countries of the Association of South East Asian Nations (collectively, “ASEAN” or “ASEAN Member Countries”, or individually, “ASEAN Member country”) and the Republic of India (India) gathered and met in New Delhi, India, on 6th November, 2006 for the 12th Technology Summit and Technology Platform, organized jointly by the Department of Science & Technology, Govt. of India, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) and ASEAN Committee on Science & Technology (COST) hereby resolve:

·        That in order to realize the shared goal of using knowledge for creation of wealth in the context of Indian-ASEAN partnership it is imperative to consider undertaking collaborative R&D and technology development in areas of common interest including biotechnology and pharmaceuticals, agriculture for food security and advanced materials through the creation of a common India-ASEAN S&T Development Fund.

·        To design through harmonized standards a regulatory framework in relation to Biotechnology products and the agricultural processing industry to ensure that the value addition resulting therefrom ennures to the benefit of ASEAN region.

·        Consider the establishment of an India-ASEAN Institute for Intellectual Property for building Human Resource capacities and training to serve the ASEAN region.

·        It is hereby further resolved that in view of the symbiotic relationship between Science & Technology and economic progress the Indian ASEAN partnership will encourage linkages between academic institutions, research laboratories, professional bodies and industry to create a knowledge grid and to support the mobility of members of the scientific community.

·        Hold Technology Summits on a regular basis utilising existing platforms in India and ASEAN for encouraging competitiveness within a cooperative framework amongst all stake holders.

·        To popularize science through interaction of youth including school children within the ASEAN region and to explore and promote mechanisms to ensure such participation on a large scale.

·        It is further resolved that CII in coordination with DST (under the Frame work of GITA signed between the two agencies) and ASEAN Secretariat will spearhead the implementation of programme emanating from this Co-chairmen’s Statement, in consultation with the ASEAN COST.

Mr. Kapil Sibal                                                         Dr. Jamaluddin Mohd. Jarjis

Minister for Science & Technology             Minister for Science & Technology

And Earth Sciences, India                                      and Innovation, Malaysia