The ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) Blueprint 2025, adopted by the ASEAN Leaders at the 27 ASEAN Summit in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, provides broad directions through strategic measures to guide the next phase of ASEAN economic integration from 2016 to 2025.

Under the new Blueprint, a stronger AEC is envisaged by 2025 with the following characteristics:
(a) A Highly Integrated and Cohesive Economy;
(b) A Competitive, Innovative, and Dynamic ASEAN;
(c) Enhanced Connectivity and Sectoral Cooperation;
(d) A Resilient, Inclusive and People-Oriented, People-Centred ASEAN; and
(e) A Global ASEAN

The AEC Blueprint 2025 sets higher ambition through the deepening of existing integration areas, and incorporation of new focus areas such as Global Value Chains (GVCs), good regulatory practice, sustainable development, global megatrends and emerging trade-related issues.

Download the full Fact Sheet here.