1. The Transport Ministers of ASEAN and the People’s Republic of China met for the Fifth ASEAN and China Transport Ministers (ATM+China) Meeting in Bangkok, Thailand on 9 February 2007. H.E. Admiral Thira Hao-Charoen, Minister of Transport for Thailand and ATM Chairman, and H.E. Mr. Weng Mengyong, Vice-Minister of Communications for the People’s Republic of China, co-chaired the Fifth ATM+China Meeting.
  2. The Ministers acknowledged the successful outcomes of the ASEAN–China Commemorative Summit held in Nanning, China on 30 October 2006 and the 10th ASEAN-China Summit held in Cebu, Philippines on 14 January 2007. The Ministers expressed full support to the Leaders’ commitment to deepen cooperation in tourism and travel and work towards a fully liberalised air services regime between ASEAN and China and the need to promote infrastructure development, particularly in transport, in order to enhance closer linkages and connectivity within the region and beyond. 
  3. The ASEAN Ministers, in pursuance to the initiative of Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao at the 10th ASEAN-China Summit in Cebu, welcomed China’s proposal to hold A workshop on ASEAN-China Transport Cooperation Strategic Plan, which aims to develop a medium-to-long term development strategy to support a coherent and integrated approach to infrastructure development linking Southeast Asia with East Asia and the establishment of the ASEAN-China Free Trade Area. The ASEAN Ministers thanked China’s proposed technical assistance for the feasibility study on the upgrading of secondary road networks in each of the CLMV Countries to provide connectivity to the ASEAN Highway Network. China will also co-finance with Thailand the construction of the Houei Sai-Chiang Khong Mekong Bridge of Kun Man Road (Kunming–Bangkok Highway via Lao PDR).
  4. The Ministers noted that the Trade in Services Agreement under the Framework Agreement on Comprehensive Economic Co-operation between ASEAN and China was signed at the 10th ASEAN-China Summit.  The agreement will provide opportunities for expanded trade and higher levels of investment in the transport and travel related services sector.
  5. The Ministers recognised the steady progress of ASEAN-China transport cooperative partnership, as follows:
    1.  Prompt conclusion of the ASEAN-China Maritime Transport Agreement. The Ministers looked forward to signing this agreement in the 6th ATM + China Meeting in Singapore in November 2007; 
    2. Intensifying the consultation process in formulating the ASEAN-China regional air services arrangement, with the view to achieve a fully liberalised regime in the region. China will convene the second workshop in due time;
    3. Intensifying the construction of road transport corridors linking China with Viet Nam, Lao PDR, Thailand and Myanmar, and of ports in Beibu Bay; continuing cooperation on the improvement of navigation channel on the Lancang-Mekong River and its international shipping.
    4. Further strengthening cooperation in the Singapore-Kunming Railway Link construction;
    5. Continuing dialogue and capacity building on maritime safety, maritime security and marine environmental protection under the ASEAN-China Maritime Consultation Mechanism. The third maritime consultation, the international maritime forum and a workshop on ship’s technology will be held in Qingdao, Shanghai and Beijing, respectively;
    6. Scholarship for 10 ASEAN nationals to pursue a one-year master’s degree course in the Dalian Maritime University in China;
    7. Continued capacity building programmes and technical assistance to enhance navigational safety in the Straits of Malacca; and
    8. Strengthening cooperation in human resources development to support the transport integration process in building of the ASEAN Community.
  6. The Ministers thanked the Royal Government of Thailand for the excellent arrangements made for the Meeting and agreed to meet in Singapore in November 2007. 




  1. H.E. Pehin Dato Abu Bakar Apong, Minister of Communications for Brunei Darussalam;
  2. H.E. Mr. Sun Chanthol, Minister of Public Works and Transport for Cambodia;
  3. H.E. Mr. Weng Mengyong, Vice-Minister of Communications for the People’s Republic of China;
  4. H.E. Dr. Wendy Aritenang, Secretary-General, Ministry of Transportation for Indonesia;
  5. H.E. Mr. Math Sounmala, Director-General, Planning and Cooperation Department, Ministry of Communication, Transport, Post and Construction for Lao PDR;
  6. H.E. Dato’ Sri Chan Kong Choy, Minister of Transport for Malaysia;
  7. H.E. Maj. Gen. Thein Swe, Minister of Transport for Myanmar;
  8. H.E. Ms. Anneli R. Lontoc, Undersecretary (Deputy Minister) for Road Transport and Chairman, International Affairs, Department of Transportation and Communications for the Philippines;
  9. H.E. Mr. Raymond Lim Siang Keat, Minister for Transport of Singapore;
  10. H.E. Admiral Thira Hao-Charoen, Minister of Transport of Thailand;
  11. H.E. Mr. Ho Nghia Dung, Minister of Transport of Viet Nam; and
  12. H.E. Mr. Ong Keng Yong, Secretary-General of ASEAN