1. The Eighth Meeting of the ASEAN Economic Ministers on Energy Cooperation was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 22 – 23 June 1989.

2. The Meeting was opened by H.E. Datuk Leo Moggie, Minister of Works of Malaysia.

3. H.E. Datuk Leo Moggie wished a very warm and cordial welcome to the Heads of delegations of ASEAN member countries and their Senior Officials on the occasion of the Eighth Meeting of the ASEAN Economic Ministers on Energy Cooperation. He proceeded to reiterate the benefits of cooperation among ASEAN countries in various areas of energy which encompassed oil and gas through ASCOPE, coal through ASEAN Expert Group on Coal, and electricity under the purview of the Forum of Heads of ASEAN Power Utilities / Authorities.

4. Some specific areas of energy cooperation highlighted by His Excellency were in electric power system interconnection, combined cycle technology, new and renewable sources of energy, environmental aspects, and sharing of expertise and technology.

5. The Meeting was attended by H.E. Pengiran Dato Seri Laila Jasa Dr. Haji Ismail bin Pengiran Haji Damit, Minister of Development of Brunei Darussalam; H.E. Ginanjar Kartasasmita, Minister of Mines and Energy of the Republic of Indonesia; H.E. Datuk Leo Moggie, Minister of Works of Malaysia; H. E. Wenceslao de La Paz, Undersecretary, Office of Energy Affairs of the Republic of the Philippines; H.E. Mah Bow Tan, Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry and Ministry of Communications and Information of the Republic of Singapore; and H.E. Prachuab Chaiyasan, Minister of Science, Technology and Energy of Thailand and their respective delegations.

6. H.E. Roderick Yong, the Secretary-General of the ASEAN Secretariat was also present.

7. The Meeting was preceded by a preparatory meeting of ASEAN Senior Officials on Energy Cooperation from 19 – 20 June, 1989.

8. The Ministers were briefed by H.E. Ginanjar Kartasasmita on developments within OPEC and its implications particularly on trends in the price of oil.

9. The Ministers noted with satisfaction the report on the activities of the ASEAN Council on Petroleum (ASCOPE).

10.The Ministers approved the Standing Procedures and Action Programmes to implement the ASEAN Petroleum Security Agreement (APSA).

11. The Ministers expressed satisfaction on the progress of cooperation activities currently being implemented in the areas of Coal and New and Renewable Sources of Energy and among the ASEAN Power Utilities / Authorities.

12. In the area of Coal, the Ministers approved new Terms of Reference which will guide the future activities of the ASEAN Experts Group on Coal. The Terms of Reference provided for, among others, active cooperation with third countries and the promotion of closer liaison between the Experts Group and the Private Sector.

13. The Ministers also agreed that the Coal Co-operation Committee established between the Philippines and Indonesia could serve as a basis for future cooperation in Coal among ASEAN countries.

14. In the field of New and Renewable Sources of Energy (NRSE), the Ministers approved the Action Plan on the Commercial Application of NRSE Technologies in the ASEAN Region. The Action Plan will initially focus on the commercial application of NRSE technologies for Rice Husk Energy Conversion System for Process Heat Generation; Wood and Charcoal Gasifier for Electricity, Shaft Power, and Process Heat Generation; Small Photovoltaic Systems; and Solar Water Heaters.

15. The Ministers noted with satisfaction the progress of the nine cooperation projects under the purview of the Forum of the Heads of ASEAN Power Utilities / Authorities.

16. The Ministers noted that the ASEAN Standard for PVC Insulated Cables (Non-Armoured) for Electric Power and Lighting is now being adopted and used by the various ASEAN Power Utilities/Authorities. The Ministers also noted with satisfaction that work on a second ASEAN Standard for Distribution Transformers is actively proceeding.

17. The Ministers welcomed the Malaysian offer of the training facilities at the Institute Latihan Sultan Ahmad Shah (ILSAS) and agreed that the pooling of specialized training resources in the ASEAN Power Utilities be encouraged.

18. The Ministers noted that the ASEAN – EC Energy Management Training and Research Centre (AEEMTRC) was officially inaugurated in Jakarta in November 1988.

19. The Ministers agreed to hold the next meeting of the ASEAN Economic Ministers on Energy Cooperation in the Philippines in 1990.

20. The delegations of Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand expressed their sincere appreciation to the Government and people of Malaysia for the warm hospitality accorded them and the excellent arrangements made for the Meeting.

21. The Meeting was held in the traditional ASEAN spirit of solidarity and cordiality.