1. The Heads of State/Government of the ASEAN Member States, Australia, the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, and New Zealand met in Cha-am Hua Hin, Thailand, on the occasion of the 4th East Asia Summit.
  2. They recalled their decision at the 2nd East Asia Summit in Cebu, the Philippines, on 15 January 2007, to strengthen regional educational cooperation by tapping the region’s centers of excellence in education. In this connection, they welcomed India’s initiative to revive the Nalanda University located in the State of Bihar in India.
  3. They noted that the Nalanda University was a great ancient centre of intellectual activity in Buddhist philosophy, mathematics, medicine and other disciplines.
  4. They were deeply impressed with the sanctity and significance of the great ancient centre of learning in Nalanda that attracted many scholars from South, South-East and East Asia.
  5. They appreciated the contribution and recommendations made by the members of the Nalanda Mentor Group headed by Nobel Laureate Professor Amartya Sen towards the establishment of the Nalanda University.
  6. They supported the establishment of the Nalanda University as a non-state, non-profit, secular, and self governing international institution with a continental focus that will bring together the brightest and the most dedicated students from all countries of Asia – irrespective of gender, caste, creed, disability, ethnicity or social-economic background – to enable them to acquire liberal and human education and to give them the means needed for pursuit of intellectual, philosophical, historical and spiritual studies and thus achieve qualities of tolerance and accommodation.
  7. They encouraged the networking and collaboration between the Nalanda University and existing centers of excellence in the EAS participating countries to build a community of learning where students, scholars, researchers and academicians can work together symbolizing the spirituality that unites all mankind.
  8. They encouraged appropriate funding arrangements on voluntary basis from governments and other sources including publicprivate partnership as may be decided by the Governing Body which will be composed of members nominated by interested EAS participating countries.