The ASEAN Convention on Counter-Terrorism (ACCT) has now been ratified by all ten ASEAN Member States. Signed by the ASEAN Leaders in 2007, the ACCT is a significant achievement of ASEAN’s counter-terrorism efforts as it serves as framework for regional cooperation to counter, prevent and suppress terrorism and deepen counter-terrorism cooperation. The ACCT enhances the region’s strategic role in the global strategy on counter-terrorism.

As stipulated in the ACCT, the Convention enters into force 30 days after the sixth ASEAN Member State submits its instrument of ratification with the Secretary-General of ASEAN. Brunei Darussalam became the sixth country to ratify it on 28 April 2011 and the ACCT came into force on 27 May 2011, whereas Malaysia became the tenth Member State to deposit its instrument of ratification with the Secretary-General of ASEAN on 11 January 2013.

With all ASEAN Member States aboard on the ACCT, ASEAN has taken another step in fulfilling the ASEAN Political and Security Blueprint, and in developing a safer and more secure ASEAN for everyone.