What is AJCCM?

The ASEAN Joint Coordinating Committee on Medical Practitioners (AJCCM) is the committee under the Healthcare Services Sectoral Working Group (HSSWG) that discusses matters pertaining to facilitation of cooperation on Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRA) on Medical Practitioners. Since the signing date, the following revision on Professional Medical Practitioner Regulatory Authority was made:

The Medical MRA was signed in March 2009. This Arrangement will facilitate the mobility of medical services professionals within ASEAN, enhance exchange of information and expertise on standards and qualifications, promote adoption of best practices for professional medical services and provide opportunities for capacity building and training of medical practitioners.

This MRA is also in accordance with the efforts of the ASEAN Member States in recognizing the ASEAN Vision 2020 on Partnership in Dynamic Development geared towards the creation of a stable, prosperous and highly competitive ASEAN Economic Region.

The mobility mechanism for ASEAN medical practitioners varies among the ten countries. The following links provide the mobility mechanism of the respective countries:

The AJCCM also regularly exchange information on the policies related to medical services. Among others:

  1. Temporary Licensing and Registration for Foreign Medical Practitioners
  2. Registration Licensing Period  & Requirements (local)
  3. Registration Licensing Period  & Requirements (foreign)
  4. Malpractice Insurance
  5. Definition of Full Registration

More information can be obtained from the National Medical Authority website:

brunei  Brunei Darussalam

cambodia  Cambodia (Ministry of Health), (Medical Council of Cambodia)

indonesia  Indonesia (Ministry of Health), (Indonesian Medical Council)

lao pdr  Lao PDR

malaysia  Malaysia (Ministry of Health Malaysia), (Malaysian Medical Council)

Flag of Myanmar-01  Myanmar (Ministry of Health), (Myanmar Medical Council)

philippines  Philippines

singapore  Singapore

thailand  Thailand

vietnam  Viet Nam