The ASEAN Plus Three (APT) Summit this year 2012 was marked as the Commemorative Summit since it was the 15th Anniversary of the APT Cooperation. The APT Commemorative Summit, held at Peace Palace, Phnom Penh, Cambodia, on 19 November 2012, was chaired by Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo HUN SEN, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia, and attended by the Leaders of the ASEAN Member States and the Plus Three Countries, namely the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of Korea and Japan. The Secretary-General of ASEAN also attended the Summit.

Leaders discussed the review and future direction of the ASEAN Plus Three cooperation and also exchanged views on regional and international issues.

The ASEAN Plus Three Leaders adopted two important documents, namely the ASEAN Plus Three Leaders’ Joint Statement on the Commemoration of the 15th Anniversary of the ASEAN Plus Three Cooperation and the Leaders’ Statement on ASEAN Plus Three Partnership on Connectivity. Moreover, the Leaders took note of the Report of the East Asia Vision Group II, Memorandum No. 9 of the Network of East Asian Think-Tanks, Summary Record of the 10th East Asia Forum, the Progress Report on the Implementation of the Second Joint Statement on East Asia Cooperation and the APT Cooperation Work Plan, and the APT Plan of Action on Education: 2010-2017.

To mark the 15th Anniversary of the APT cooperation, the Leaders welcomed the successful activities to commemorate the 15th Anniversary of the APT Cooperation, namely i) the “Workshop on APT Partnership on Connectivity” held on 15 June 2012 in Bangkok, Thailand; ii) the “APT Youth Leaders’ Symposium” held on 18-19 October 2012 in Phnom Penh, Cambodia; iii) the “APT Joint Cultural Performance: Unity in Diversity” held on 2-3 November 2012, in Siem Reap, Cambodia; and iv) the Track II Symposium on the Commemoration of the 15th  Anniversary of the APT Cooperation on 17-18 September 2012 in Beijing, China. The Leaders also welcomed the selection of Siem Reap City of Cambodia as the “Cultural City of East Asia 2012 within the framework of the ASEAN Plus Three” and the designation of the year 2012 as “Visit ASEAN Plus Three Year.”

(Source: General Department of ASEAN, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation)