SIEM REAP, 30 August 2016 – The Eighth ASEAN Senior Officials Meeting on Youth (SOMY VIII) presented the ASEAN Youth Award to ten ASEAN youth leaders representing each of the ten ASEAN Member States. Eight youth organisations also received the Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations (TAYO) in ASEAN Award from the SOMY VIII.

The award ceremony was held as part of a series of meetings of the ASEAN Youth Sector including the SOMY VIII, 7th SOMY+3 and the 21st ASEAN Youth Day Meeting hosted and chaired by Cambodia in Siem Reap on 25-26 August.

At the 21st ASEAN Youth Day Meeting, attended by 55 youth leaders from the ASEAN Member States and the Plus Three Countries, youth awardees shared key messages and actions related to ASEAN youth cooperation and volunteerism to promote sustainable development and stronger cooperation in the ASEAN Community.

The ASEAN Youth Day Meeting and Award are held biennially and aim to highlight the role and contribution of young people in ASEAN towards the development and continued prosperity of the region.

This year’s ASEAN youth awardees are listed below:


ASEAN Youth Awardee

TAYO in ASEAN Awardee

1. Brunei Darussalam


Ms. Nurliyana Fatin Arifin

Vice President

Young Entrepreneurs Association of Brunei

Society for Community Outreach and Training (SCOT)

Represented by Mr. Mohd Khairul Azmi Haji Mohd Salleh,

Acting Chairman/Vice-Chairman

2. Cambodia Mr. Sambath Ny


EACO Holdings Co.,Ltd.

Union of Youth Federation of Cambodia – Sector Education Youth and Sports

Represented by Mr. Hour Tola,

Group Leader

3. Indonesia Mr. Dani Ferdian


Volunteer Doctors

Kelompok Studi Ekosistem Mangrove Teluk Awur (KeSEMaT)

Represented by Mr. Amrullah Rosadi, Former President

4. Lao PDR Ms. Southammavong Siriphone


National Assembly of Lao PDR


5. Malaysia Mr. Mohd Syahbuddin bin Hashim

Permanent Chairman

National Youth Council

Gerakan Belia 4B (M) Kawasan Baling Kedah (The Baling Malaysian 4B Youth Movement)

Represented by Mr. Muhammad Halwani Bin Datuk Haji Hasbullah, Information Chief

6. Myanmar Mr. Wai Hin Zaw

Platoon Commander

Auxiliary Fire Brigade


7. Philippines


Ms. Hidilyn F. Diaz

Airwoman Second Class

Air Force of the Philippines and Rio Olympics Weightlifter

Keep Hope Alive

Represented by Mr. Shernan Gamol, Founding Chairman

8. Singapore


Mr. Edward Chia

Co-founder and Managing Director

Timbre Group

National University of Singapore – Students Against Violation of the Earth (NUS SAVE)

Represented by Ms Elaine Hui Xian Sam and Ms Ning Chai,


9. Thailand Mr. Kanin Kearpimy


Pangsawas Nonthaburi Technical College

Bangkok Broadcasting & T.V. Co., Ltd.

Represented by Ms. Kwanjit Sangaroon,

Head of Pre-production Section

10. Vietnam


Ms. Nguyen Thuy Tien

Co-founder and Executive Director

Breast Cancer Network Vietnam (BCNV)

Binh Duong Provincial Youth Union

Represented by Mr. Anh Le Tuan, Deputy Head, Propaganda and Education Committee