KUALA LUMPUR, 21 November 2018 – Seven ASEAN private companies were recognized at the Second ASEAN Red Ribbon for Outstanding Workplaces (ARROW) Award Ceremony and Forum held in Kuala Lumpur today. These companies were awarded for their remarkable actions to prevent and control HIV in the workplace, raise HIV awareness of workers, and promote non-discriminatory policies and environment for workers with HIV and AIDS.

Malaysian Minister of Human Resources M. Kulasegaran and ASEAN Deputy Secretary-General for ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Kung Phoak jointly conferred the awards to Jerudong Park Medical Centre of Brunei Darussalam; Dewhirst Co. Ltd. of Cambodia; Wayang Windu Geothermal Energy of Indonesia; Petroliam Nasional Berhad of Malaysia; Knowles Electronics Corporation of the Philippines; MSD International Gmbh Singapore Branch; and Sanden Co. Ltd. of Thailand.

The ARROW Award was developed to encourage employers and workers to develop, expand and participate in programmes and activities that reduce the prevalence of HIV and AIDS in the workplace, including promotion of inclusive and supportive working environment. In the long run, the award is expected to contribute to the vision of zero new HIV infection, zero discrimination, and zero AIDS-related deaths in the workplace in ASEAN Member States.

“ARROW Awardees should promote more champions among the private companies in their countries who support productivity of workers with HIV and AIDS and ensure decent work for them,” Deputy Secretary-General Kung said in his remarks.

The Second ARROW Award Ceremony and Forum will be followed by the Fourth Meeting of ASEAN Business Coalition on HIV and AIDS (ASEAN-BCA) on 22-23 November 2018. National business coalitions on AIDS and employers’ associations will discuss their priorities for 2018-2020 including the preparation of the Third ARROW Award in 2020 in the Philippines. The ASEAN-BCA Coordinator will be assumed by the Philippines for the period of 2018-2020. Previously, the Coordinators were Indonesia (2014-2016) and Malaysia (2016-2018).

The profiles of the Second ARROW Awardees are available here.