JAKARTA, 26 September 2018 – ASEAN is calling for nominations for the inaugural ASEAN Prize, which aims to recognise inspiring achievements and contributions of an individual or organisation that foster the ASEAN identity, promote the ASEAN spirit, and champion the ASEAN way in designated focus areas, such as

  • collaboration between ASEAN Member States;
  • collaboration between ASEAN and the world;
  • people-to-people engagement among ASEAN Member States;
  • economic integration and promotion of standards between Member States, or
  • outstanding contributions towards ASEAN Community Building.

A high-level judging committee, consisting incumbent and past Secretaries-General of ASEAN, will select the winner, who will be awarded a cash prize of US$20,000. The inaugural prize will be presented during the ASEAN Leaders’ Summit in November 2018 in Singapore.

To be eligible, the nominee must be an ASEAN citizen or an organisation in any ASEAN Member State. The nominee must demonstrate verifiable achievements for the period of April 2017 to March 2018. The nominee should also share their future plans in continuing the work after winning the prize.

Please submit nominations to your respective National Focal Point, as listed below:

ASEAN Member States

National Focal Points for the ASEAN Prize

Brunei Darussalam Mr. Garry Ibrahim
Acting Director-General for ASEAN-Brunei Darussalam National Secretariat
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Email: B2ASEAN@mfa.gov.bn
Cambodia General Department of ASEAN,
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
Email: mfaic.asean@mfaic.gov.kh
Indonesia Directorate of ASEAN Social and Cultural Cooperation,
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Email: direktoratkfa@gmail.com
Lao PDR ASEAN Political-Security Community Division,
Lao National ASEAN Secretariat
Email: aseanlaos@gmail.com
Malaysia ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Division,
ASEAN-Malaysia National Secretariat
Email: asccd@kln.gov.my
Myanmar Mr. Hau Khan Sum,
Director-General, ASEAN Affairs Department,
Email: dgasean@gmail.com; psaseanmmr@gmail.com
the Philippines Division IV – ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community
ASEAN-Philippines National Secretariat
2330 Roxas Boulevard, Pasay City, Philippines
Tel.: 8344431, 8344470; Fax: 8321667
Email: asean.div4@dfa.gov.ph, aseanphnatsec@gmail.com
Singapore ASEAN-Singapore National Secretariat
Email: mfa.asean.singapore@gmail.com
Thailand Department of ASEAN Affairs,
Ministry of Foreign Affairs (ASEAN-Thailand National Secretariat)
Email: aseanthailand.scdiv@mfa.go.th
Viet Nam ASEAN-Viet Nam National Secretariat
Email: asean.mfa@mofa.gov.vn; asean.mfa.vn@gmail.com

The deadline for submission is 10 October 2018 (Wednesday).

For further information, please visit https://bit.ly/2zun9n3.