1. The 12th East Asia Summit (EAS) was held on 14 November 2017 in Manila, Philippines. The Summit was chaired by H.E. Rodrigo Roa Duterte, President of the Republic of the Philippines. The Summit was attended by the Heads of State/Government of ASEAN Member States, Australia, the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of India, Japan, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, and the United States of America. The Secretary-General of ASEAN was also in attendance.

2. We reaffirmed our commitment to the 2005 Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the Establishment of the East Asia Summit, the 2010 Ha Noi Declaration on the Commemoration of the 5th Anniversary of the East Asia Summit, the 2011 Declaration of the East Asia Summit on the Principles for Mutually Beneficial Relations, and the 2015 Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the 10th Anniversary of the EAS, which emphasized the important role of the East Asia Summit as a Leaders-led forum to discuss broad strategic, political, security and economic issues of common interest and concern with the aim of promoting peace, stability, and economic prosperity in East Asia.

Download the full Statement here.