H.E. Nyan Lynn recently took his oath of office as the new Deputy Secretary-General (DSG) of the ASEAN Political-Security Community (APSC) for the period 2012-2015 at the ASEAN Secretariat. The oath-taking ceremony was attended by the Secretary-General of ASEAN, other Deputy Secretaries-General, and officers of the ASEAN Secretariat.

Guided by the ASEAN Charter, DSG Lynn will support the Secretary-General by providing leadership in the implementation of the APSC Blueprint and by managing the APSC Department which covers four divisions: Political Cooperation, Security Cooperation and External Relations 1 and 2. He will also provide strategic advice to the Secretary-General in APSC matters as well as contribute to ASEAN Community Building and the strengthening of ASEAN’s relations with its Dialogue Partners and the international community.


DSG Lynn was nominated by the Government of Myanmar to succeed H.E. Sayakane Sisouvong of Lao PDR, who was DSG-APSC for 2009-2012. Before his appointment, DSG Lynn was the Permanent Representative of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar to ASEAN. His appointment was approved by the 9th Meeting of the ASEAN Coordinating Council on 16 November 2011 in Bali, Indonesia.

As stated in the ASEAN Charter, the Secretary-General of ASEAN shall be assisted by four Deputy Secretaries-General, of different nationalities from the Secretary-General and shall come from four different ASEAN Member States. Two DSGs are nominated by Member States on a rotational basis for a non-renewable term of three years while two DSGs are openly-recruited based on merit for a three-year term which may be renewed for another three years.