WE, the Heads of State/Government of the Member States of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Australia, the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, New Zealand, Russian Federation and the United States of America, on the occasion of the 13th East Asia Summit (EAS) in Singapore, on 15 November 2018;

RECOGNISING the challenges arising from rapid urbanisation, and the importance of collaboration among the EAS participating countries to address the associated challenges through technological and other solutions;

RECOGNISING the potential benefits of developing a regional smart cities ecosystem which will strengthen the region’s capacity to harvest the opportunities associated with the ongoing digital and 4th industrial revolution, and achieve wide-ranging and beneficial, economic, social and environmental outcomes;

Download the full statement here.