WE, the Heads of State/Government of the Member States of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (thereinafter referred to as ASEAN), namely, Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, on the occasion of the 37th ASEAN Summit;

UPHOLDING the Initiative for ASEAN Integration launched at the Fourth Informal Summit in Singapore in 2000 and Ha Noi Declaration on Narrowing Development Gap for Closer ASEAN Integration in 2001, which provided direction on collective efforts in ASEAN to narrow the development gap within ASEAN and between ASEAN and the rest of the world, and to enhance ASEAN’s competitiveness as a region;