1. Economic Ministers from the ten ASEAN Member States and the Minister of Commerce and Industry of the Republic of India met on 6 August 2016 in Vientiane, Lao PDR, for the Thirteenth AEM-India Consultations. The Consultations were co-chaired by H.E. Mrs Khemmani Pholsena, Minister of Industry and Commerce of Lao PDR, and H.E. Mrs Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of State for Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge) of India.

2. India commended the establishment of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) in 2015 as a major milestone in regional economic integration. India also welcomed the new AEC Blueprint 2025, which envisages an AEC by 2025 that is highly integrated and cohesive; competitive, innovative and dynamic; with enhanced connectivity and sectoral cooperation; a more resilient, inclusive, and people-oriented, people-centred community; and integrated with the global economy.

Download The Full Statement Here.