1. The Eleventh East Asia Summit Energy Ministers Meeting (11th EAS EMM) was held on the 28 September 2017 in Pasay City, Metro Manila, Philippines. The Meeting was chaired by H.E. Secretary Alfonso G. Cusi, Secretary of Energy of the Philippines. The Meeting was attended by the Ministers and Senior Officials responsible for energy from the EAS participating countries, namely the ASEAN Member States, Australia, the People’s Republic of China, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, New Zealand, the Russian Federation, and the United States. The Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN for Corporate Affairs was also in attendance.

2. The Ministers discussed the global energy outlook through 2040, and reiterated the continued significance of EAS cooperation to ensure security of energy supply and to promote cleaner energy and technology-neutral approach to meet the bulk of the EAS region’s rising energy demand. They called for deeper cooperation to implement innovative measures and to formulate responsive policies. Energy Ministers noted the progress of the EAS Energy Cooperation Task Force in advancing regional energy security and the uptake of clean and renewable energy technologies. Ministers also noted the importance of promoting free and open energy trade and investment markets towards this goal.

Download the full Statement here.