1. The Intellectual Property Offices of the Member States of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), namely Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, and the Japan Patent Office (JPO) (hereinafter collectively referred to as the “Partners”) held the Fifth Heads of Intellectual Property Offices (IPOs) Meeting on 25 May 2015 in Nara, Japan.
  2. The Partners reaffirmed the importance of further strengthening cooperation on industrial property rights among them for their mutual prosperity and development, based on the strong relationships between ASEAN and Japan over the years.
  3. The Partners recognized the importance of industrial property system in facilitating trade and investment, taking into account the different levels of economic development and capacity and differences in national legal systems; and fostering innovation and technology transfer to achieve sustainable economic development in ASEAN and Japan.
  4. The Partners emphasized that deepening cooperation among them contributes to the achievement of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) by transforming ASEAN into an innovative and competitive region through the use of IP for their nationals and ensuring that the region remains an active player in the international IP community.
  5. To this end, the Partners affirmed the ASEAN IPOs – JPO IPR Action Plan 2015 – 2016 and the further deepening of their cooperation beyond 2016.
  6. The Partners reaffirmed that the Sixth Heads of IPOs Meeting would be held on the occasion of the 50th Meeting of the ASEAN Working Group on Intellectual Property Cooperation, which is scheduled in July 2016.