H.E. Ms. Emaleen Abd Rahman Teo presented her letter of credentials, as the new Permanent Representative (PR) to ASEAN of Brunei Darussalam, to the Secretary-General of ASEAN, H.E. Dr. Surin Pitsuwan, at a ceremony held at the ASEAN Secretariat early this week. The ceremony was attended by Deputy Secretaries-General (DSG) of ASEAN:  H.E. Nyan Lynn, H.E. Pushpanathan Sundram and H.E. Dato’ Misran Karmain.

Dr. Surin welcomed Ambassador Emaleen while expressing his appreciation to Brunei Darussalam for its valuable contribution and strong commitment to ASEAN.

During the presentation, Ambassador Emaleen articulated her country’s enthusiasm in hosting the 19th ASEAN–EU Ministerial Meeting (19th AEMM) on 26 – 27 April 2012.  Since Brunei Darussalam will take over the Chairmanship of ASEAN in 2013, she informed Dr. Surin that Brunei Darussalam would emphasize on encouraging people’s participation to raise the awareness on ASEAN, with inspiring programs for teachers and students—which should ultimately contribute to ASEAN Community Building.


Prior to her appointment, Ambassador Emaleen was the Director-General of ASEAN of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Brunei Darussalam (2008-2012) and the Ambassador of Brunei Darussalam to the Philippines (2005-2008).

According to the ASEAN Charter, each ASEAN Member State shall appoint a Permanent Representative to ASEAN with the rank of Ambassador based in Jakarta. Collectively, the Permanent Representatives constitute the Committee of Permanent Representatives to ASEAN (CPR), whose tasks include supporting the work of the ASEAN Community Councils and coordinating with ASEAN National Secretariats and other ASEAN Sectoral Ministerial Bodies. The CPR also liaises with the Secretary-General of ASEAN and the ASEAN Secretariat.