1. The 47th Meeting of the ASEAN Economic Ministers (AEM) was held on 22 August 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It was chaired by HE Dato’ Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry, Malaysia. The 47th AEM was preceded by a preparatory meeting of the Senior Economic Officials. The AEM also held joint meetings with the 29th ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) Council and the 18th ASEAN Investment Area (AIA) Council.

2. The Ministers exchanged views on the recent global developments and the impact on the region. They highlighted that ASEAN’s economy has remained relatively resilient in the midst of global uncertainties, foreign exchange volatilities and the subdued post-global financial crisis recovery and the need to remain vigilant. The Ministers underscored the significance of the year 2015 as a key milestone in ASEAN’s community building process. Noting the challenges faced collectively by the region as well as by individual ASEAN Member States, the Ministers expressed ASEAN’s continued resolve to establish the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) at the end of this year and its commitment towards deeper integration under the AEC post-2015 agenda.

Download the full Joint Statement here.