1. Economic Ministers from the ten ASEAN Member States, Australia, China, India, Japan, Republic of Korea, New Zealand, the Russian Federation and the United States met on 24 August 2015, in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for the Third East Asia Summit (EAS) Economic Ministers Meeting. The Meeting was chaired by H.E. Dato’ Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry of Malaysia.

2. The Ministers exchanged views on the EAS regional economic developments as well as trade and investment relations and noted that according to ASEAN statistics, the combined GDP of the EAS participating countries stood at USD 42.0 trillion in 2014, an increase from USD 40.5 trillion in 2013.

3. The Ministers also noted that ASEAN’s total trade with the non‐ASEAN EAS countries grew by 1.1 per cent year-on-year to USD 1.1 trillion in 2014. The eight non‐ASEAN EAS countries accounted for 43.9 per cent of ASEAN’s total trade. Foreign direct investment (FDI) inflows from the non‐ASEAN EAS participating countries in 2014 reached USD 46.6 billion, or 34.2 per cent of ASEAN’s total FDI inflows.

Download the full Joint Statement here.