1. Economic Ministers from the ten ASEAN Member States, Australia and New Zealand (Closer Economic Relations – CER) met on 9 September 2017 in Pasay City, Philippines, for the Twenty-Second AEM-CER Consultations. The Consultations were co-chaired by H.E. Ramon M. Lopez, Secretary of Trade and Industry of the Philippines; the Honourable Steven Ciobo, Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment of Australia; and Hon. Chester Borrows, Member of Parliament, representing New Zealand.

2. Australia and New Zealand congratulated ASEAN on its 50th Anniversary, a historic milestone for ASEAN regional integration. The Ministers reaffirmed their commitment to strengthen economic cooperation towards shared prosperity and inclusive growth, and stressed the importance of ongoing regional trade liberalisation and closer economic engagement.

Download the full statement here