JAKARTA, 25 July 2017 - ASEAN gave recognition and awards to youth leaders and youth organisations during the Gala Dinner for the Tenth ASEAN Ministerial Meeting on Youth (AMMY X) that was hosted by Indonesia as host and Chairperson of the AMMY. Youth leaders nominated by each of the ASEAN Member States received the ASEAN Youth Award while ten youth organisations received the Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations (TAYO) in ASEAN Award.

The ASEAN Youth Award recognises individuals who made outstanding contributions towards regional cooperation and development particularly in enhancing ASEAN awareness, exchange of experiences and ideas among ASEAN youth, and strengthening regional solidarity, stability and prosperity. On the other hand, the TAYO Award aims to promote a culture of peace through youth participation and to give recognition to outstanding youth and youth-serving organisations. Each awardee and awarding organisation received a plaque of recognition from Mr. Imam Nahrawi, Minister of Youth and Sports of Indonesia and Chairperson of the AMMY.In addition, the top three winners of the ASEAN Youth Video Contest 2016 focusing on the theme of entrepreneurship were also recognised. Vongthep Arthakaivalvatee, Deputy Secretary General of ASEAN for ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community awarded a certificate of appreciation to the winners.

The ASEAN Youth Video Contest is an initiative under the ASEAN Work Plan on Education 2016-2020 supported by the U.S. Government through the United States Agency for International Development and the U.S Mission to ASEAN and the ASEAN Foundation. Winners received cash prizes and took part in a professional training programme on video production.

The 22nd ASEAN Youth Day Meeting served as platform for the ASEAN youth awardees to share key messages and actions that may be pursued related to ASEAN youth and volunteerism.  Over a hundred youth leaders from the ASEAN Member States participated in the ASEAN Youth Day Meeting.

The ASEAN youth awardees are as follows:


ASEAN Youth Awardee

TAYO in ASEAN Awardee

1.    Brunei Darussalam

Mrs. Nurizzatul

Secretary, Persatuan Kemajuan Insan

The Society for Community Outreach and Training (SCOT)

2.    Cambodia

Ms. Sorita KoungManaging Director, Ocean Technology Co., Ltd

People Health Development Association (PHD)

3.    Indonesia

Mr. Novi Setia Nurviat Founder and Owner, Rumah Bintang Nusantara

Baju Kertasku (a social foundation for orphans)

4.    Lao PDR

Ms. Manothip Siripaphanh Managing Director, Naree Handbags


5.    Malaysia

Mr. Muhammad Sherhan Nizam bin Abdul Aziz Executive Committee, Malaysian Youth Council

Kelab Beliawanis Sri Sepang (a social organization aimed at improving the lives of young women)

6.    Myanmar

Dr. Aung Myat Lwin Executive Committee Member, Myanmar Young Entrepreneurs Association KBZ Brighter Future Myanmar Foundation (aims to uplift the lives of underdeveloped communities at the grass roots level)

7.    Philippines

Mr. Ahmad Hataman

Ingat kapandayan Artist Center

8.    Singapore Mr. Muhammad Shakir Juanda, Singapore Silat FederationNational Athlete (SPEX Scholars)

Angels of Impact (funds women-led social enterprises in the ASEAN region)

9.    Thailand

Mr. Suphanat Yindeepot Student, Rattanathibate School

Puang Nue District Child Right Protection Networks

10. Viet Nam

Mr. Seo Chau GiangVice Chairman

Commune People’s Committee of Lao Cai Province

Ha Tinh Provincial Youth Union (aims to train and protect the legitimate interests of Ha Tinh’s youths)

The winners of the ASEAN Youth Video Contest 2016 are as follows:



Title of Video

1.    Vietnam Pha Van Quyen Real Action, Real Volunteering
2.    Malaysia Mohamad Addin Azhan The Merit Point
3.    Cambodia Chhin Long Volunteer Woman