The Tenth East Asia Summit Energy Ministers Meeting (EAS EMM) was held on the 22nd of September 2016 in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar. The Meeting was chaired by H.E. Dr. Tun Naing, Deputy Minister for Electricity and Energy of Myanmar. The Meeting was attended by the Ministers and Senior Officials responsible for energy from the EAS participating countries, namely the ASEAN Member States, Australia, the People’s Republic of China, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, New Zealand, the Russian Federation, and the United States. The Deputy Secretary-General of ASEAN for ASEAN Economic Community was also in attendance.

The Ministers noted the progress of the EAS Energy Cooperation Task Force (ECTF) in advancing regional energy security, and noted the importance of promoting free and open energy trade and investment markets towards this goal. The Ministers affirmed the strong imperative for continued EAS cooperation in clean energy, including renewable energy, energy efficiency and lower emission fossil fuel technologies to meet the rising energy demand in the region and to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in line with the COP21 Paris Agreement. The Ministers noted that certain EAS participating countries consider commercial clean coal technologies as a low emission technology. The Ministers encouraged new initiatives and deeper cooperation among EAS countries, including in such areas as the diversification of low- and no-carbon power generation for energy security and reduced carbon emissions, as well as in policy formulation that is supported by responsive and action-oriented energy research and analysis.

Download the full Statement here.