1. The Twenty-Second ASEAN Transport Ministers (ATM) Meeting was held on 17 November 2016 in Manila, Philippines. H.E. Mr. Arthur P. Tugade, Secretary of Transportation of the Philippines chaired the Meeting and H.E. Mr. Khaw Boon Wan, Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure and Minister for Transport for Singapore was the Vice-Chairman. The Twenty Second ATM Meeting was preceded by the Forty-Second ASEAN Senior Transport Officials Meeting (STOM) and their consultations with dialogue partners held on 14-16 November 2016.

2. The Twenty-Second ATM was officially opened by H.E. Mr. Benjamin Diokno, Secretary of Department of Budget and Management of the Philippines representing the Office of the President. In his Opening Remarks, he highlighted the efforts of the Government of the Philippines in achieving efficient and sustainable transportation as a means to move people, enhance business, and attract investments. He also highlighted that under the new marching order of “Build, Build, Build”, several major infrastructure projects would be carried out to facilitate the transport of goods and services in the Philippines, including the development of mass urban transport systems to address the traffic crisis in metropolitan cities and the establishment of the first rail network outside of Luzon to link provinces in the Visayas and Mindanao. Finally, he wishes ASEAN transport cooperation activities would be able to enhance the connectivity, ease of travel, lower prices of goods and services, and the improvement of people’s life quality.

Download the full Statement here.