1. Economic Ministers from the ten ASEAN Member States, People’s Republic of China (“China”), Japan and Republic of Korea (“Korea”) met on 10 September 2017 in Pasay City, Philippines, for the Twentieth AEM Plus Three Consultations. The Consultations were co-chaired by H.E. Ramon M. Lopez, Secretary of Trade and Industry of the Philippines, H.E. Wang Shouwen, Vice Minister of Commerce of China (representing H.E. Zhong Shan, Minister of Commerce of China), H.E. Hiroshige Seko, Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan, and H.E. Kim Hyun-chong, Minister for Trade of Korea.

2. The Ministers of the Plus Three Countries congratulated the ASEAN Ministers on the 50th Founding Anniversary of ASEAN, which marked a historic milestone in the ASEAN’s regional integration journey. The Ministers also commemorated the 20th Anniversary of the ASEAN Plus Three (APT) cooperation, which has broadened and deepened in various areas since its establishment in 1997. The Ministers expressed their commitment to closely work together for a more open, inclusive, resilient and prosperous region.

Download the full statement here.