At the 32nd ASEAN Summit on 28 April 2018, the ASEAN Leaders established the ASEAN Smart Cities Network (ASCN). The ASCN is a collaborative platform where cities from the ten ASEAN Member States (AMS) work towards the common goal of smart and sustainable urban development. The 26 ASCN Pilot Cities are: Bandar Seri Begawan, Battambang, Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, Makassar, Banyuwangi, DKI Jakarta, Luang Prabang, Vientiane, Johor Bahru, Kuala Lumpur, Kota Kinabalu, Kuching, Nay Pyi Taw, Mandalay, Yangon, Cebu City, Davao City, Manila, Singapore, Bangkok, Chonburi, Phuket, Da Nang, Hanoi, and Ho Chi Minh City. The Concept Note for the ASCN can be downloaded here.

In the light of the opportunities and challenges posed by rapid urbanisation and digitalisation, the primary goal of the ASCN is to improve the lives of ASEAN citizens, using technology as an enabler. By focusing on our people, it adopts an inclusive approach to smart city development that is respectful of human rights and fundamental freedoms as inscribed in the ASEAN Charter. The networking of Smart Cities across ASEAN also contributes to enhancing mutual understanding across cultures.

The ASCN aims to facilitate cooperation on smart cities development, catalyse bankable projects with the private sector, and secure funding and support from ASEAN’s external partners. To this end, 33 partnerships have been established thus far.

The first ASCN Governance Workshop was held from 22 to 25 May 2018 in Singapore, and was attended by delegates from the AMS, including the ASCN National Representatives (NRs), Chief Smart City Officers (CSCOs), and accompanying officials, the ASEAN Secretariat, as well as various government and private-sector agencies from ASEAN’s external partners. The Workshop provided a venue for the ASCN members to draft their Smart City Action Plans (SCAPs) with guidance from experts, discuss the ASEAN Smart Cities Framework (ASCF), and network with external partners. The Information Paper on the Workshop can be downloaded here.

The Inaugural Meeting of the ASCN was held on 8 July 2018 in Singapore, and the opening ceremony was graced by Dr. Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Singapore. At the Meeting, the ASCN endorsed the ASCF and the SCAPs for the 26 pilot cities. The consolidated SCAPs can be downloaded here (The updated contact list is here). The ASCF was adopted by the Leaders at the 33rd ASEAN Summit on 13 November 2018 in Singapore, and can be downloaded here.

Moving forward, the ASCN is looking to develop more partnerships to improve initiatives for smart cities development in the region.

Explore the interactive map below to learn out more about the pilot cities and their priority projects.

Additional information: